Transparency principle

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) in brief

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) outlines the principles according to which public authorities act vis-à-vis the citizen. The Cantonal authorities pursue an active information policy, i.e. they communicate matters of general interest of their own accord. The website of the cantonal BIDP Coordination Center (German) will give you the information you searched for regarding the transparency principle.

Data protection

On the other hand, data protection guarantees the protection of privacy of natural and legal persons. Whenever information on persons is gathered, processed or published, this means a limitation of fundamental rights like personal freedom and the right to privacy under the Swiss Constitution.

The Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) determines the necessary rules and the Data Protection Officer (German) of the Canton of Zurich monitors compliance with them.

The BIDP in the Canton of Zurich

The new Cantonal Constitution (German) introduced the transparency principle in the Canton of Zurich starting 1 January 2006. This means that any official activity, with only a few exceptions, is done in a transparent fashion and publicly accessible and that those interested can gain access to information of the cantonal authorities. To express this constitutional right in more concrete terms, the Bill on Information and Data Protection (BIDP) (German) and the respective Ordinance (IDPO) (German) as well as other amendments to the cantonal legal system have been adopted. They entered into force on 1 October 2008. The simultaneous entry into force of the Bill and the Ordinance provides for a harmonised adherence to the transparency principle in the Canton of Zurich, with due respect of data protection (German).


The Bill focuses on the following:

  • Consistent interlocking between the transparency principle and data protection
  • Public authorities' duty to supply information and individual right to information access
  • Protection of privacy
  • Revision of data protection
  • Obligation to pay fees for access to information

Principe de transparence

La loi sur la protection des données et sur l'information (IDG) en bref

Définit la manière dont les organismes publics doivent traiter les informations vis-à-vis des citoyennes et citoyens. Les autorités cantonales informent de façon active en donnant spontanément des renseignements sur des affaires d'intérêt général. Le site Internet du Service cantonal de coordination IDG vous permet d'accéder aux informations recherchées sur le principe de transparence.

Protection des données

La protection des données garantit de l'autre côté la protection de la sphère privée des personnes morales et physiques. L'obtention, le traitement ou la diffusion d'informations concernant une personne constitue une limitation des droits constitutionnels fondamentaux comme la liberté individuelle et le droit à la vie privée.

La loi sur la protection des données et sur l'information (IDG) (Allemand) définit les règles nécessaires et le Préposé à la protection des données du canton de Zurich (Allemand) veille à leur bon respect.

L’IDG (loi sur la protection des données et sur l’information) dans le canton de Zurich

La nouvelle constitution du canton (Allemand) a introduit dans le canton de Zurich à partir du 1er janvier 2006 le principe de transparence. Cela signifie que toutes les actions des autorités, à quelques exceptions près, sont soumises au principe de transparence et accessibles au public et que toutes les personnes intéressées doivent avoir accès aux informations concernant les autorités cantonales. Pour concrétiser ces dispositions déjà ancrées dans la constitution, la loi sur la protection des données et sur l'information (IDG) (Allemand) et l'ordonnance (IDV) (Allemand) associée ainsi que d'autres modifications du système juridique cantonal ont été promulguées. Elles sont entrées en vigueur le 1er octobre 2008. L'entrée en vigueur simultanée de la loi et de l'ordonnance permet la mise en œuvre uniforme, dans le canton de Zurich, du principe de transparence dans le respect de la protection des données (Allemand) impérative.

La loi régit les points principaux suivants :

  • imbrication logique du principe de transparence et de la protection des données
  • obligation d'information des organismes publics et droit individuel d'accès aux informations
  • protection de la personnalité
  • révision de la protection des données
  • obligation de paiement d'une taxe d'accès aux informations