Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer Dienst

The Psychiatric-Psychological Service (PPS) employs 50 staff members from different professional backgrounds (psychology, medicine, nursing) working together in an interdisciplinary way.

The most important fields of activity of the PPS

Implementation of therapy offers with a view to preventing crime and risk assessment with a focus on violent and sexual offences
Some 250 offenders are continuously in treatment programs, accompanying the enforcement of the sentence in prison or in freedom, with a view to preventing crime. As a direct consequence of the new provisions under the Swiss Criminal Code, the range of therapeutic offers of the PPS in the Penal Institution of Pöschwies has been broadened since the summer of 2009 and now includes 24 treatment places for clients with in-house treatment under Art. 59 SCC. Since autumn 2010, the PPS also has a branch in the Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon.

Psychiatric basic care in all prisons and institutions for the execution of sentences and measures in the Canton of Zurich
Every year, the PPS assists some 1 300 offenders in the prisons of the Canton of Zurich. The psychiatric basic care focuses on influencing upon and stabilising acute psychiatric conditions during imprisonment. There are some 12 000 sessions held in the PPS every year.

Evaluation and quality assurance
The evaluation of therapeutic programs and the analysis and further development of procedures with a view to establishing a prognosis are part of the core functions of the application-oriented research within the PPS.

Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer Dienst

Le Service de psychiatrie et de psychologie (SPP) compte 50 personnes issues de différentes catégories professionnelles (psychologie, médecine, soins infirmiers) collaborant de manière interdisciplinaire.

Les principaux champs d'activité du SPP

Mise en œuvre de thérapies visant à prévenir les délits et évaluations des risques, surtout ceux liés à la délinquance sexuelle et aux actes délictueux de violence

Environ 250 délinquants suivent d'une façon continue des programmes de traitement visant à prévenir les délits, ce pendant la détention ou après celle-ci. Conformément à l'art. 59 CP, 24 places destinées aux clients suivant un traitement stationnaire sont venues compléter, depuis l'été 2009, l'éventail des offres thérapeutiques du SPP au sein de l' établissement pénitentiaire de Pöschwies , ce qui est une conséquence directe des nouvelles dispositions du Code pénal. Depuis l'automne 2010, le SPP est représenté par un service au sein du centre d'exécution des mesures de Uitikon.

Prise en charge psychiatrique primaire dans toutes les prisons ainsi que dans les établissements d'exécution judiciaire et d'exécution des mesures dans le canton de Zurich

Chaque année, le SPP suit environ 1 300 délinquants dans les prisons du canton de Zurich. L'influence et la stabilisation des tableaux cliniques psychiatriques aigus sont au cœur de la prise en charge psychiatrique primaire durant la détention. Chaque année, le SPP réalise environ 12 000 consultations.

Evaluation et assurance qualité

L'évaluation des programmes thérapeutiques ainsi que l'examen et le développement des processus de diagnostic sont les points principaux de la recherche appliquée du SPP.